Posted by: tpsciencefun | November 10, 2009

More Polar Bear Sightings

There are so many amazing facts about the wide array of Arctic Animals. Today our first graders had the opportunity to learn more about the polar bear and some other arctic animals I had the privilege of observing recently.   We talked about arctic hares, snowy owls, red foxes, bald eagles, snow bunting,  and two creatures I didn’t see on this trip, puffins and buluga whales.

I’ve added a few  more photos of the bears,  the unique “pancake” ice, a beluga’s backbone, some bright orange lichen growing on 4 billion year old rock, and our big tundra buggy.  Also, look closely to see the resilent tundra vegetation still trying to grow and survive.   Let me know what you think.

P.S.  If you have time, I highly recommend watching the movie Earth.  There is great footage of the Arctic and other biomes on Earth.

Categories

